Third annual country surveillance meeting to facilitate malaria elimination in the Greater Mekong subregion, 30 October 2020

13 May 2021
WHO Mekong Malaria Elimination Programme


On 30 October 2020, representatives from the Greater Mekong subregion (GMS) Member States – Cambodia, China, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Myanmar, Thailand and Viet Nam – met with partners to strengthen surveillance for malaria elimination in the subregion. The third annual surveillance meeting was hosted virtually by the WHO Mekong Malaria Elimination (MME) programme. During the meeting, representatives exchanged information on surveillance progress and challenges in their countries. Presentations centred around surveillance updates, the Malaria Elimination Database and data sharing. The outcomes from these discussions led to recommendations that aim to further strengthen surveillance to accelerate malaria elimination in the GMS towards the shared goal of a malaria-free status in the region by 2030.